Skip to content

getPDF and Sejda: the free limits, the prices, and where your files go

By the getPDF team · Sejda checked on 11 October 2026 against its own pages

The short answer

Sejda’s free website allows 3 tasks an hour and sets per-file caps such as 200 pages or 50 MB in the editor and 50 pages for a merge; your file is uploaded and deleted after 2 hours. Sejda Desktop works on your computer instead, with 3 free tasks a day. getPDF has no task count and no page cap, and runs in your browser with nothing uploaded. Pick Sejda for Word to PDF, HTML to PDF and its long list of specialist tools; pick getPDF when the hourly limit or the upload is what stops you.

We make getPDF, so read this knowing who wrote it. Every claim about Sejda below was checked on 11 October 2026 on Sejda’s own pages, listed under the article. The wider field is on the best free PDF tools, compared, and the other comparisons are under Compare.

Side by side

Sejda getPDF
Price Free; Web Week Pass 5.50 euros for 7 days, no renewal; Web Monthly 8.50 euros a month; Desktop+Web Annual 71 euros a year (prices shown to us in euros) Free, every tool; optional donations
Free tier: tasks Website: 3 tasks an hour, 30 files an hour. Desktop: 3 tasks a day No count
Free tier: file size and pages Per tool: editor 200 pages or 50 MB; compress 200 pages or 100 MB; merge and PDF to Word 50 pages or 50 MB; OCR 10 pages; images 5 MB No fixed limit; your device’s memory, and the tool says when a file will not fit
Free tier: files per task 1, except tools that combine files, such as merge Merge takes as many as you add; compress takes a whole folder
Where files are processed Website: its servers (hosting by DigitalOcean and Google Cloud in the US and Europe, Cloudflare worldwide). Desktop: your computer In your browser, on your device
How long files are kept Tool pages: deleted after 2 hours. Shared copies: 7 days Never stored anywhere but your device
Account needed No (“no signup required”) No; there are no accounts
Watermark Not stated None
Offline Sejda Desktop Yes in the browser, after the first file has loaded the engine
Editing existing text Yes, not in scans; no complex scripts Yes, line by line; paragraphs do not reflow
OCR Free up to 10 pages; paid up to 100 pages Free, any page count, 11 languages, confidence per page
E-sign Draw, type or upload a signature; Sejda says it does not guarantee it is legally binding Drawn, typed or photographed signatures; no requests, no certificates
Batch Paid (“processing multiple files at once”) Compress runs a whole folder; merge takes many files
Mobile Not stated; its pages name no mobile app Works in the phone’s browser; no app
Platforms Web; desktop for Windows, Mac and Linux Any current browser on any system

Where Sejda is the better pick

  • Word and HTML to PDF. Sejda converts Word documents and web pages to PDF, and PDF to PowerPoint. getPDF has no Word to PDF yet, and none of the others.
  • Specialist tools. Bates numbering, splitting by bookmarks, by text or by file size, deskewing scans, repairing damaged files, renaming files from their text, creating form fields and chaining tasks into workflows are all on Sejda’s menu. getPDF has none of these yet.
  • A real installed app, on Linux too. Sejda Desktop runs on Windows, Mac and Linux, processes files on your computer, and can use the fonts installed on it. If you would rather have no browser involved, it fits better than any website, ours included.
  • Cloud inputs. Sejda opens files from Dropbox, Google Drive, OneDrive or a web address. getPDF opens files from your device only.
  • A short paid burst. The Web Week Pass is a one-time charge that drops back to free after 7 days, which suits a single busy week.
  • A weak device. Sejda’s servers do the heavy work for the website. On getPDF your own device does it, so a very large file needs the memory to match.

Where getPDF is the better pick

  • No hourly limit. 3 tasks an hour runs out fast: a merge, a page delete and a compression use the hour. getPDF has no count, so a job of many small steps finishes in 1 sitting.
  • Long and large documents. Sejda’s free merge stops at 50 pages and its free OCR at 10. On getPDF, Merge PDF and OCR PDF have no page cap; the limit is your device’s memory, and the tool says when a file will not fit.
  • Many files at once, free. Processing several files in 1 task is paid on Sejda. Compress PDF here takes a whole folder in 1 run.
  • Redaction that removes. Sejda’s menu lists no redaction tool, and its editor warns that whiteout hides text but does not remove it. getPDF’s Redact PDF removes what is under each box for good on save, with a finder for emails, phone numbers, IBANs and similar.
  • Files that should not travel. Nothing is uploaded, which matters for a lease, a payslip or an ID scan.

Where your files go

Sejda. On the website, your file is uploaded to Sejda’s servers and processed there. Its tool pages say files are “automatically deleted after 2 hours”; its privacy policy says files are permanently deleted after upload or processing, that no backups are made, and that shared copies are deleted 7 days after sharing. The policy names its hosting providers: DigitalOcean and Google Cloud in the United States and Europe, and Cloudflare worldwide. The data controller is described as a Dutch company registered in Amsterdam; the policy we read left its name and address blank, and we found no data processing agreement mentioned, which a company handling client files will want to ask about (GDPR and online PDF tools explains why). Sejda Desktop is different: Sejda says files are processed on your computer, not uploaded.

getPDF. Nothing is uploaded. The engine loads in your browser with your first file, and the work happens in your tab. The site’s content security policy lets the page connect only to getPDF’s own address, where nothing accepts files; the only message sent after a job is an anonymous counter with the tool id, success or failure and 2 rough buckets for time and size. The privacy page explains the architecture.

Check it yourself: use a tool once on a test file, turn Wi-Fi off, and run it on another. If it finishes, the work happened on your device. The Wi-Fi off test shows the network panel view too, and the same test works on Sejda Desktop. For when uploading is fine, see Is it safe to upload a PDF to an online converter?.

Moving from Sejda to getPDF

Sejda’s most used tools, and where the same job is on getPDF:

Sejda tool On getPDF
Edit Edit PDF
Fill and Sign Fill PDF form, Sign PDF
Compress Compress PDF
Merge, Organize Merge PDF, Organise pages
Split by pages, Extract Pages, Delete Pages Split PDF, Extract pages, Delete pages
Crop, Resize, Rotate Crop PDF, Resize pages, Rotate PDF
PDF to Word, PDF to Excel, PDF to Text PDF to Word, PDF to Excel, PDF to text
PDF to JPG, JPG to PDF, Extract Images PDF to JPG, JPG to PDF, Extract images
OCR OCR PDF
Protect, Unlock, Watermark, Flatten Protect PDF, Unlock PDF, Watermark, Flatten PDF
Page Numbers, N-up, Grayscale Page numbers, Pages per sheet, Grayscale PDF
Edit Metadata Remove metadata (removes, does not edit fields)

No equivalent yet: Word and HTML to PDF, PDF to PowerPoint, Bates numbering, splitting by bookmarks, text or size, deskew, repair, form creation, workflows, and opening files from cloud drives. For those, Sejda is the honest answer today.

A difference to expect: getPDF’s PDF to Word rebuilds text, headings, lists and tables for editing; it does not copy the page layout, and the tool says so before you start. PDF to Word, Excel and text explains it.

Try the job people most often switch for

A merge is where the free limits meet first: 50 pages and 1 task of your 3 an hour on Sejda’s website. Here there is no page cap and no count:

Try it here, nothing is uploaded

PDF · any number of files · any size

Sources, checked on 11 October 2026

Prices, limits and policies change. If something here is out of date, write to hello@getpdfs.app and we correct it.

Questions

What is Sejda's free limit?

Checked on 11 October 2026: 3 tasks an hour on the website, 1 file per task outside merge, and a size and page cap per tool, such as 200 pages or 50 MB in the editor, 50 pages or 50 MB for merge and PDF to Word, and 10 pages for OCR. Sejda Desktop allows 3 tasks a day.

How much does Sejda cost?

Shown to us in euros on 11 October 2026: a Web Week Pass at 5.50 for 7 days that does not renew, Web Monthly at 8.50 a month, and Desktop+Web Annual at 71 a year. Paid plans remove the hourly and page limits and allow files up to 500 MB.

How long does Sejda keep uploaded files?

Its tool pages say files are deleted automatically after 2 hours. Its privacy policy says files are deleted permanently after upload or processing, with no backups, and that shared copies are deleted 7 days after sharing.

Does Sejda work offline?

Sejda Desktop does: it processes files on your computer, on Windows, Mac and Linux, with a free tier of 3 tasks a day. getPDF also works offline, in the browser, once you have run a tool with a connection, with no task count.

Can Sejda edit existing text?

Yes, in digital PDFs, not in scans, and its editor does not support complex scripts such as Arabic or Devanagari. getPDF's editor also edits existing text, line by line, and refuses scripts it has no font for with a message.

Try the getPDF side

Other comparisons